Industry Certification in Contract Management – Defense

What is the ICCM–D?

The Industry Certification in Contract Management – Defense (ICCM–D) is a certification awarded by the National Contract Management Association (NCMA) that parallels the Defense Acquisition Workforce Improvement Act (DAWIA) certifications in contracting. The formal education, experience, and specialized training required are the same for the ICCM–D and for DAWIA.

What is the level of education required to become certified?

A bachelor’s degree in any field of study and at least 24 semester hours among these topic areas: accounting, law, business, finance, contracts, purchasing, economics, industrial management, marketing, quantitative methods, or organization and management.

 Who is eligible to apply for the ICCM–D certification?


The ICCM-Defense certification requirements mirror those of the Defense Acquisition Workforce Improvement Act (DAWIA) Certification in Contracting for each level (I, II, or III). While DAWIA certification is limited to the civilian and military workforces of the various Department of Defense agencies only, the ICCM-D is available to private sector and non-federal public sector employees who meet all the education, experience, and training prerequisites for the level of certification sought.

Eligibility for the ICCM-D (Level I, II, & III) requires candidates to have and complete the following:

Education (All Levels):

Bachelor’s degree conferred or approved by an accredited U.S. college or university based on a 4-year course of study AND at least 24 semester hours among these topics areas:

Accounting, Law, Business, Finance, Contracts, Purchasing, Economics, Industrial Management, Marketing, Quantitative Methods, or Organization and Management.


Work Experience:

1 Year of contracting work experience.

Completion of Coursework:

LEVEL II:  All LEVEL I plus:

Work Experience:

2 Years of contracting work experience

Completion of Coursework:

LEVEL III:  All LEVEL I and II plus:

Work Experience:

4 Years of contracting work experience

Completion of Coursework:

Steps to Certification:

  1. Complete application
  2. Pay fee and send to NCMA with supporting documents
  3. NCMA reviews application in 15 business days
  4. NCMA sends ICCM Certificate and letter

NCMA Pricing for Certification Programs

Nonrefundable Application Fees:

Renewal Fees:

If you have any questions for Certification, please call 1-800-344-8096 or email us at